Sewing with a Sense of Humor

I don’t want to use the term “as of late,” because this problem has been going on for quite some time now… I can’t stop purchasing food fabric and I can’t imagine it stopping anytime soon.

If you’ve looked at my Etsy store, Showboat Clothing, you might have seen this: Les Frites Bustier Bra Top. It’s gotten it’s fair share of recognition on Tumblr, and girls all over the world are wearing one with a “yeah, I’m wearing French fry attitude,” (because that is a totally normal attitude, right?). But aside from the bustier, I keep managing to take it a step further. Evidence A: French fry shorts.

Fry

Now, this might all seem a little silly to you, that’s because it is. In the best way possible, of course.  Why did I decide to make a pair of high-waisted tap shorts? Aside from a killer fabric pattern, they have a sense of humor, and most importantly, they have character.  Every time I wear something as interesting as these bad boys, people can’t help but talk about them with me. Even the ice cream sandwich bandeau I made for my friend can come off as silly, but incredibly original.

Ice Cream Sandwich

The responses towards the use of such fabrics for garments has been up and down, especially on the internet where people tend to be a little more critical and have an opinion about E-V-E-R-Y-T-H-I-N-G.  When people say “is it weird that I want to wear this?”, the automatic response I think to myself is “why the hell would that be weird?” That’s the beauty of clothes, you get to identify with whatever you feel suits you best. Whether it be a polka dot skirt or an ice cream sandwich bandeau, it is uniquely you and uniquely a reflection of your personality. The clothes I choose to make stems from the fact that the world can be a harsh place and that people have a tendency to be a bit cynical, French fry shorts are just an opportunity to make yourself smile in an outrageous fashion. Besides, where else are you going to find something as wild unless you sew it yourself?

How do your clothes reflect your personality?

Leave a comment

Filed under Showboat Clothing

Leave a Reply

